Star Wars Weekends 2014

journ116

Good afternoon fellow Disney travelers! Today, I would like to pick the brains of forum members who have attended Star Wars Weekends...I am in the beginning stages of planning a weekend trip in May 2014 specifically for this event, which will be my first encounter with the hoopla! And the kicker: I am surprising my 17 y.o. younger sister with said weekend trip (this will be her Christmas, 18th birthday, & graduation present)! Now, she is a much bigger Star Wars fan than I am and will probably know more about the characters & set-ups than me...I am just an appreciater of Lucas' film work.

Onto the questions:
1. When did you attend?
2. What were the crowds like?
3. Any tips or tricks-of-the-trade I should be aware of? I am a complete novice when it comes to this event.
4. Any "must do's?"
5. Did you stay at DHS all day/night (or the night before;))?

As of right now, I will be booking a studio at AKV, because it's my DVC home resort...hoping I can switch to BCV or BWV at my 7 month booking window.

Many thanks in advance to ANY insights, suggestions, and/or answers to my questions above!

Master Yoda

Pro Star Wars geek.
Premium Member
Good afternoon fellow Disney travelers! Today, I would like to pick the brains of forum members who have attended Star Wars Weekends...I am in the beginning stages of planning a weekend trip in May 2014 specifically for this event, which will be my first encounter with the hoopla! And the kicker: I am surprising my 17 y.o. younger sister with said weekend trip (this will be her Christmas, 18th birthday, & graduation present)! Now, she is a much bigger Star Wars fan than I am and will probably know more about the characters & set-ups than me...I am just an appreciater of Lucas' film work.

Onto the questions:
1. When did you attend?
2. What were the crowds like?
3. Any tips or tricks-of-the-trade I should be aware of? I am a complete novice when it comes to this event.
4. Any "must do's?"