PHOTOS - First look inside 'Under the Sea - Journey of the Little Mermaid'

ExtinctJenn

Yes, I noticed the same thing, but then realized it is just Flounder. The "Orange Flounder" in the image below is lit up with orangish light, look at Eric's hair . . . it has a orangish glow to it different from the earlier photos. Even Flounder's plastic "water spout" is orangish colored.
Yup... theory disproved (shucks).

Pixiedustmaker

Marketing shortcuts happen all the time, it not intentional deviousness.. I'm betting that if they used the same photo, it's again because 95% (or more) of the world will have no idea that this is identical to the version in DCA. And that they are just trying to get the excitement level up for the launch in WDW.

I work in marketing and sales, and sadly this is rather common place.

I think what irks folks is that they made a point to put up this photo under an article titled, "All in the Details: The First Photos from Under the Sea ~ Journey of the Little Mermaid at Magic Kingdom Park."

It supposed to be a special "first look" to readers of their blog, not just a page advertising Mermaid in a magazine. Its kind of like if NASA released some "first photos" of Curiosity on Mars to get folks excited, but then later we find out that the photos are from an older Mars mission.

Sure, ad companies photoshop and do a ton of stuff to photos for ads, but they don't usually fake behind-the-scenes stuff and "first look" photos by using stuff from stock they presumably shot a while ago from DCA.

danlb_2000

Premium Member
Can anyone find the post that Thor is referencing that shows the same image posted in 2011?

I looked through the blog around the time Mermaid opened in DCA and didn't find it. The only press images and videos that I have seen from the DCA opening are ones with the more straight style water spouts. So even though it's possible the blog image was taken in DCA, I find no evidence that it's a recycled press image.

Pixiedustmaker