Disney Employees Must Return to Office Four Days a Week, Bob Iger Says

tanc

Original Poster

I myself am a fully remote worker and kinda am conflicted. As a programmer, I can do my entire job remotely. So I wonder how this applies to software development.

mkt

Disney's Favorite Scumbag™
Premium Member

I myself am a fully remote worker and kinda am conflicted. As a programmer, I can do my entire job remotely. So I wonder how this applies to software development.

The reason for this is pretty simple. To naturally increase attrition professional roles and reduce benefits they have to pay out if AND when they do layoffs later this year due to the shaky economy.

Tom P.

What Disney does or does not do with their workers in this regard doesn't really affect me. But I think in most cases, the idea of remote work as the norm is detrimental. Now, of course, there are exceptions. There are certain jobs that lend themselves well to remote work and certain people who thrive when working remotely. But on the whole, I think there is a real, strong value to having a group of employees assembled in the same workplace, even if their jobs could ostensibly be done independent from one another.

That said, with regards to Disney specifically, I'm sure that there's more at play here than just thinking it's "better" for employees to be at work in person. It will be interesting to see how employees react to this. I imagine there's more than one frontline parks cast member, though, who's been working in person since the height of Covid and is thinking, "it's about time!" 😂

JoeCamel