News Disney mask policy at Walt Disney World theme parks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trauma

I agree with your opinion completely. However, them doing so and not admitting the real reasoning behind it leads to distrust of the CDC.

If they had just given the real reason, that could have led to vaccinated people putting more pressure on unvaccinated friends and relatives to get vaccinated because they could blame them for why masking was back. Instead, it led to people saying "the vaccines don't work."
Yeah it was the biggest misstep so far and is what led to my mistrust.

They should have just come out and said “the unvaccinated are not following the rules so we all have to mask”.

LittleBuford

The CDC recommending masks indoors to slow the spread in areas of Substantial or High transmission is not the problem. The problem is that they defined "Substantial" so hilariously low that pretty much EVERYWHERE is considered "Substantial."
I have no epidemiological background and so really cannot say whether the CDC’s threshold is on the low side. What are you basing your opinion on?

GimpYancIent

Disney is fairly easy to read and understand these days. If stepping away from mask wearing means an increased $$$$ revenue stream, guess what Disney is going to do.

Heelz2315

@ToTBellHop usually knows what's up before the rest of us.

If and I mean IF WDW drops them indoors, I pray it's for more than 45 days. The back and forth won't help them much. A very large portion of this country (both vaxxed and unvaxxed) wants to put this behind us in the worst way. Dropping them, and bringing them back in 2 month would make WDW look bad, and in the wor$t way

CaptainAmerica

I have no epidemiological background and so really cannot say whether the CDC’s threshold is on the low side. What are you basing your opinion on?
The problem is that they use two different metrics, and if EITHER of the two metrics indicates "Substantial," then you go in "Substantial."