Vacation home for an event

WhatJaneSays

Original Poster
Unrelated to Disney but I figured some folks on here may have some insight:

The group I work with is starting to plan our holiday party and in years past one of us has always hosted it at their home. That has always been a fairly large hassle for whoever is hosting and no one really has a space that would accommodate 16-20 people for food, drinks, and general revelry. Outsiders have been suggesting renting event space somewhere but that’s really not what we’re looking for.

I thought of renting a vacation house instead but I have zero experience with the best way to go about finding one (or at least a good company that handles them) for our unique situation.

Our holiday party is more like 36-hour sleepover for adults rather than a dinner party. Because of that we might have some unusual criteria that fall into “this house has X bed rooms and X bathrooms” listings.

Nemo14

I think you might want to omit the words "general revelry" when inquiring about using someone's vacation home.

WhatJaneSays

Original Poster
I think you might want to omit the words "general revelry" when inquiring about using someone's vacation home.
I intend to be 100% honest in our inquiries. We're all professional people between the ages of 30 and 40, not frat boys. However we do want to find a property that is not going frown at us wanting to grill s'mores at midnight, has a large screen TV to marathon Star Wars on, a place we can park 3-5 vehicles without damaging someone's lawn, has a good kitchen for our caterer, and an open floor space for our sleeping bag "camping" time.

I want whoever we rent from to know what they are committing to.

Chernaboggles

We use HomeAway and VRBO.