The Jungle Cruise: Reviving a Classic

HeffyJoe

Original Poster
Hi there! I'm pretty new to this kind of thing but I've been tossing around a lot of ideas and general thoughts in my head lately and would like to put them out there somewhere I could discuss them with potentially like-minded Disney-park-obsessors.

Although I don't get to visit the parks very often at all, I have a marked interest in them and especially in the classic attractions headed by the original geniuses of WED from the 50's through the 70's. Lately I've been thinking a lot about the Jungle Cruise in particular.

It's always been one of my all-time favorites - but I might be in the minority in that it's not so much for the jokes or skippers (both of whom I do love, but more on that later). What always attracted me to it since childhood was the atmosphere and the sense of immersion and adventure, and in later years I came to appreciate just how artfully designed a ride it was in its own right. I'd always maintained an interest in wildlife and general exotica over the years as well, which probably helps. The (in my mind) superior version of the attraction, WDW's, is particularly a stand-out piece of work in my mind, having the distinction of being designed and re-designed from the ground up by Marc Davis. It remains a wonderful showcase for his sense of showmanship and design, from the beautifully atmospheric Amazon and sunken temple to classic and iconic scenes like the gorillas at the camp and the trapped safari.