Rumor or Conspiracy Theory - Disney America / Sweet Briar College's Closing

punkabella

Original Poster
I'm in Virginia, so I was dismayed when I was a high school student that the proposed Disney America was shot down.

So here we are some 20 odd years later and one of our state's all women colleges, Sweet Briar College, may be closing very soon. There is speculation that the land that SBC sits on may be a target of Disney. This blog post has been going around some of my friend's facebook postings lately and wanted to hear what some of you that are in the know thinks of it.. or doesn't think of it to be honest.

I love a good conspiracy theory. Enjoy the post here.

Goofywilliam

I love the idea of Disney America and it would be amazing for Virginias tourism. As amazing as this news is, I'm going to remain cautiously optimistic! Hopefully one day I will have a disney park less than two hours from my house!

PhotoDave219

I'm going to wave the "BullCrap" Flag proudly.... considering I just drove past what would have been Disney's America. There's a Wal-Mart 2 miles from there now. McMansions. Strip Malls.

First and foremost, Sweet Briar College's closing was Blocked by the Virginia Supreme Court. There's a massive legal fight going on over whether it can close or not. Disney would stay far away from that.

Second.... Its in a horrible location. Smack-dab in the middle of Appalachian snow country, they suggest Disney would want to put a theme park? Bwaahahahahaha. No. Also, there's no infrastructure - No interstates near Amherst, no airports, NOTHING whatsoever. You can't get people there. Its in the middle of NOWHERE.

Third.... our usual network of spies haven't hinted at anything. (Tho I passed it on to one of mine) The blog post is citing 20 year old articles about Disney wanting to keep the project alive, but that was 20 years ago.

So I would be utterly shocked beyond believe if there was any truth to this whatsoever.

punkabella

Original Poster