Louisiana Marathon, Half and 5K Jan 20 2013

a2grafix

Original Poster
I just entered the Louisiana half-marathon on Jan. 20, 2013, in Baton Rouge, La.

Anyone else enter the marathon or half or 5K?

Committed to the race after seeing their set-up at the St. Jude Memphis Marathon, which took place this past weekend. I ran the 5K in 29:27.

You know that P-Funk song "Standing on the Verge of Getting it On" ??? Well, I was standing on the verge, on a cliff, for several weeks wondering when I would commit to run 13.1 miles. I've been running 5Ks and the like for a few years now.

Stepped it up later this year, though. I ran 10 miles at the end of September in the Tower of Terror 10 miler, so what's 3.1 more miles?

Can I successfully train in the next 47 days? Sure I can. I know I can. But that's like 6 weeks as opposed to 4 months of training. Should be fine, right? Training for a 10 miler is like training for a half, right? It's like - as they say - riding a bike, right?

Wonder if the Mayans have anything to say about my future plans.

fmingo36

You can do it Tim!!!
You are totally prepared to run a 1/2 Marathon. You finished the TOT10M with no troubles and you know how to train for an event now. Can't wait to read your first 1/2 marathon report in January!

Mickey&Minnie

I have a couple of friends running the half. Maybe next year because this year I'll still be in Disney after running my first marathon ever. Have fun! It's a beautiful course that is ran.

Texas84

Stepped it up later this year, though. I ran 10 miles at the end of September in the Tower of Terror 10 miler, so what's 3.1 more miles?

Can I successfully train in the next 47 days? Sure I can. I know I can. But that's like 6 weeks as opposed to 4 months of training. Should be fine, right? Training for a 10 miler is like training for a half, right? It's like - as they say - riding a bike, right?