hard copy maps? or just go with the flow?

ChrissyBethS

Newbie here. Taking our 5 year old for her first trip. Both husband and I haven't been to Disney since we were kids.

A friend mentioned she had gotten laminated maps from mydisneyexperience; while I see the "map" feature, I can't figure out how to get personalized laminated maps from Disney. She raved about them, but I'm wondering if it is worth the effort? or should we just wing it?

We will be in the parks for 6 days; 3 in the MK and one day at every other park. I do have my 3 FP+ set up for mornings, and plan to hit my "wish list" in between those FP events. We are hoping to be poolside @2 each day.

Thanks for any advice!

SAV

Each park and resort have maps readily available, so to me that would just be something else I would have to remember and bring with on the trip and to the parks. But if you really want them:

http://customizedmaps.disney.go.com/

Our touring style doesn't involve leaving the parks, so I can't speak to the leaving the park each day. Seems like a lot of wasted time not in the parks to me.

Upvote 0

LAM378

The keepsake maps are not as useful, IMO, as the maps/times guides that are available at the parks and resorts. They're not as detailed. For instance, the ones I received didn't show restrooms or even restaurants, from what I remember. They're also huge and, laminated or not, I wouldn't want to crush/bang them up on vacation. But they are a nice souvenir to keep at home.

It would be good to check out the actual park maps before going into a park and it's something I wish I would have done in advance. These won't list time-sensitive info like ride closures or current show times, but it helps to get an idea of where things are. If you're comfortable waiting, you can grab them at your resort upon check-in. If not, you can Google them, or buy them for a few bucks on eBay, or, if you can wait 2 weeks, I can mail you some for free from WDW! ;)