1. Welcome to the WDWMAGIC.COM Forums!
    Please take a look around, and feel free to sign up and join the community.You can use your Twitter or Facebook account to sign up, or register directly.
    Dismiss Notice

Control Booth Screen In HM Loading Area

Discussion in 'How do they do that?' started by Raineman, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. Raineman

    Raineman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1,210
    A bit of a tecchie question, for any current/former CMs that have worked the HM. My first time on HM last year, the ride stopped just after I got on, so my doom buggy was right at the end of the loading area, with a control booth right next to me. I could see a CM working on what looked like a touch screen, for close to 10 minutes. Were they working on possible error report, checking ride controls? I tried to read what was on the screen, but didn't have my glasses on. The tech geek in me was wondering the whole time what operating system the display was using ;).
     
    Tom likes this.
  2. Doodlyday

    Doodlyday Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    858
    I have no info, but good question. I would like to know too.
     
  3. SnowFire

    SnowFire Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    84
    Considering how often it stops, it must be Windows based. (yes, I know it stops for other reasons, but I couldn't resist.)
     
    JourneysEnd and Raineman like this.
  4. Raineman

    Raineman Well-Known Member Original Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1,210
    Busiest day of the year. Standby wait time on HM at 60 minutes. The ride stops. The CM goes to the touch screen to restart the ride, then sees this:

    IC726259.jpg
    :eek:
     
    Doodlyday, JourneysEnd and Tom like this.
  5. ulto22

    ulto22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    68
    I can actually answer this! Those screens are known as HMIs (Human Machine Interface) and are connected to the ride safety/control system, which is a PLC (Programmable Logic Controller).

    These do not have OS's per say, its just a screen that is told where data is in the PLC, and how to interact with it. The CM's only have access to data that the original programmer says they have access to, preventing people from going in and messing with the system.
     
    Tony the Tigger, Raineman and Tom like this.
  6. Raineman

    Raineman Well-Known Member Original Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1,210
    So the data they are getting from the PLC, is it just for analysis of any problems, or does the HMI allow them to troubleshoot and correct the problem?
     
  7. ulto22

    ulto22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    68
    It depends on the engineer who designed the system. Most ride control systems will show the error that occurred (e.g. Motor power failed, motion sensor tripped, Yeti not running......), and if the engineer was good, would include ways to fix it (e.g. Remove obstruction from sensor, restart power to ride vehicles).

    For a majority of the time, if a ride breaks down, its not the control system that crashes (PLCs dont have an OS, and therefore cant crash), but it is likely is the PLC saw an unsafe condition and stopped the ride. Once the safe condition is satisfied again, the CM can probably restart the ride from the PLC HMI, or from a reset button.

    Continuing, the consoles you see that CMs use to dispatch ride vehicles (near the ride platform, normally with go button, reset, big red Emergency stop) are all talking and connected to that same PLC. The PLC runs the ride controls, then a separate system runs the show itself (video, lighting, music, effects).

    Of course these systems get very big and very complex, normally talking to each other, but I hope this gives you an idea of how it works.
     
  8. MagliteL13

    MagliteL13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    25
    I think this is a very good description of ride controls. It's a bunch of systems which normally wouldn't talk to each other, talking to each other. As for the OS, it all depends on the system. Most of the systems at Tower of Terror run/ran Windows XP when I was there.
     
    Tony the Tigger and marni1971 like this.
  9. R2D2 1982

    R2D2 1982 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    44
    Soarin runs on windows xp.
     
    ChesterKiwi and Tony the Tigger like this.
  10. Raineman

    Raineman Well-Known Member Original Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1,210
    I remember watching a video showing the part of EE where the train stops, and you see a silhouette of the Yeti tearing up track, and the scene disappears, and a Windows desktop appears
     
  11. R2D2 1982

    R2D2 1982 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    44
    Haha yup... It's funny that even thou we are affiliated with Apple we only use windows and HP computers for almost everything.
     
  12. disney4life2008

    disney4life2008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,288
    Likes Received:
    4,399
    Except the guest service/ticket cms use ipads
     
  13. R2D2 1982

    R2D2 1982 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    44
    That's why I wrote "almost everything" operations wise we use windows. Guest services such as fp and das, etc we use ipads and ipods
     
  14. ulto22

    ulto22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    68
    I've seen the control system for Soarin, its PLCs. Windows XP may run part of the show control systems.
     
  15. MagliteL13

    MagliteL13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    25
    Unless the attraction is not very complicated (for attractions, at least), it's going to interface with multiple different systems all of which may run unique operating systems. Also, most likely, for safety, security, and stability, the panel you see CMs/TMs operating from will not be where everything is "controlled" from-- just operated. The controlling is done from a different location(s). There are exceptions of course.
     
  16. Raineman

    Raineman Well-Known Member Original Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1,210
    Coming from a manufacturing/quality work background, I would live to see the SOPs and the PM list that these attractions have. I know the kind of PMs that a simple metal or plastic processing machine at a factory has; I can only imagine how many PMs a ride like HM or SM would have.
     
  17. ulto22

    ulto22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    68
    Oh yes, absolutely. The Soarin PLC control room is impressive though, a lot of racks. The preshow video systems and audio systems are located there too.

    I am working on an older system now like you described.
     
  18. HRJunior

    HRJunior New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's a PLC, and in Disney Language, we usually call it the APEX, normally, rides have it incrusted in the podium near the doombuggies (like the one at Phantom Manor)
    Usually they use it to control the ride, but they can hide it and use button instead.
    Looking to what you say about the stop, they might be looking the intruder screen if they updated the system since last picture i've seen of 2004
    The intruder screen normally look like the layout of the ride, wich black zone with number of it wich change of color to indicate to the CM where is the guest wich activated one of the intrusion carpet

    Oh and i forgotten, the APEX is a touchscreen of aproximatively 15 inches, or 21 inches , it depend of the attraction size ;)
     
    Raineman and mouse_luv like this.

Share This Page