California couple taking trip to Disney World 4 first time...Where to stay?

CamiCan

My boyfriend and I are talking our first trip to Disney World in September for 2 weeks. We are trying to decide whether to stay at a Value Resort on property and rely on the busses or stay off property and rent a car or take shuttles from the off-property site. We plan on also doing 2 days at universal, one day at Sea World, one day at Kennedy Space Center, and one day at Coco Beach which we will need a rental car for anyway. Other than extra magic hours and busses, are there other advantages to staying on property. We are looking for a comfortable place to sleep and not so much into a fancy hotel.

About me, I'm 22 and an annual pass holder at Disneyland. My bf is 25 and will tolerate Disneyland twice a year so as not as into it as I am. Will Disney World hold more interest for him because of Epcot and more sciency stuff? He's an engineer and also a geek and I'm a college student. My classes resume on September 22nd so we're going from September 5 through September 20.

Anyone have any tips for us to make the most of our trip? Do you recommend that we stay on site?

Last edited:

dreamfinder

Well, staying offsite relying on the offsite shuttles completely kills any argument against using on property buses. They tend to run less frequently, on a set schedule, and may share between multiple hotels. If you do stay offsite, remember you need to factor in $15 (or whatever it has gone up to) per day for parking. Does the offsite savings get wiped out when you add in the rental and parking? Depends on the prices you find.

If you do choose to stay onsite, you can rent cars from several places on property (Swolphin/Car Care Center) as well as most of the hotels within walking distance of DTD. The price may be slightly higher, but you could get away with only renting for the days you need it, so may save money that way.