AKL/YC questions

SLPRay

Hello,

My husband and I are trying to decide between the Animal Kingdom Lodge and the Yacht Club resorts for a late Nov./early Dec. visit. We stayed at the Yacht Club for our anniversary, so that one has some sentimental value. However, we love animals and the AKL sounds nice, too.

#1 If we did the AKL, we'd have to get a Savannah View to be able to see the animals from our room-that would be the whole appeal. If you get a Savannah room, can you pretty consistently see the animals? Or is it an every now and then thing?

#2 Any general thoughts between the two above mentioned resorts comparatively?

We loved Storm Along Bay at the YC, but not sure how much swimming we'd be doing at that time of year. How is the pool at AKL and is there a whirlpool/hot tub at AKL?

Sorry if this topic has been brought up many times before. This is my first time posting.

Thanks for any insight!

Moustronaut

I've wandered around the place for an hour looking around and seen the animals. I have not stayed at AKL but one of my closest friends has and here's her take on the lodge.

The animals are always around. They put nicely disguised feeding stations close to the rooms so they animals are there (do the same thing on the safari tour at DAK). So the type of animal you see will vary from hour to hour as they wander around, but you always see something.

Now have stayed at Boardwalk (right across the lake from YC/BC). Persoanlly I think it's much more convient to the parks. You can walk to Epcot, boat to MGM, short bus ride to MK. At AKL then only short bus ride is to Animal Kingdom. But walking around AKL, the place is wonderfully themed. I'd stay there once just to say I'd been there. Plus they are less expensive that YC. So give it a shot

Upvote 0

abu21

AKL/YC Questions