A Jolly Holiday 3/23 - 3/30

This is my first attempt at a trip report and I really enjoy reading all of yours so I hope you enjoy mine :)

It’s been almost 6 years since my last trip to Disney World in October 2003 and I am so excited to be going from March 23rd – 30th 2009. We originally planned this trip for December 2008 but I was laid off in October and we had to cancel. I was incredibly sad, especially because all of these bad things happened to me during the holiday season. But, I stayed optimistic and didn’t let any of this real life drama affect my Christmas. My Mom was so proud of how we all handled ourselves at Christmas that she offered to pay for a trip during the buy 4 get 3 free promotion. My boyfriend and I are so grateful to her for this. We didn’t realize how much we needed a vacation. I haven’t been on vacation since 2005 and he hasn’t been since his last trip to WDW in 2003 (I didn’t know him then, it’s just a coincidence we were there the same year!).

A few months ago, I ordered a gift basket (www.memoriesbybetsy.com) to be placed in my mother’s room upon check in at the Contemporary. I can’t wait to see her face! I got the idea in this thread: http://forums.wdwmagic.com/showthread.php?t=397907

Picture of the basket:

MomsBasket.jpg

Since I haven’t been to WDW since 2003, there are a TON of new things that I’ve read all about but never experienced (and am really excited for!):

Magical Express – I used to have to take my own bags from the airport to the hotel! It was like the Disney stone ages!

EPCOT:
Soarin
Kim Possible
The Seas w/ Nemo – I think this was being built when I was there last

MK:
Monsters Inc Laugh Floor
Updated POC
WISHES – the last time I was there, wishes debuted the DAY I left. I’ve never seen the entire show but they were rehearsing it nightly that week so I got to see (but not hear) most of it.

AK:
Expedition Everest

DHS:
Toy Story Mania
Prince Caspian
Star Wars: Jedi Training Academy