Rumor Flight of Passage foundation cracks?

GrumpyFan

Original Poster
I just heard an interesting alleged rumor from someone who works in AK in Pandora and they’re saying that one of the theaters at FoP has been closed indefinitely due to cracks that were found in the foundation. Can anyone confirm if it was open today, or if any truth here?

Last edited:

trainplane3

Isn't it all contained to one giant building? If there were cracks in one theater, wouldn't it affect the entire building? Pretty sure you couldn't close a part that is structurally deficient while the other half is open. But I'm not a engineer.

Is this going to become the next "the Yeti is over-stressing the foundation" or "a sinkhole closed Horizons"? :banghead:

Edit: Not surprised I'm wrong with this. See @FerretAfros and @lazyboy97o for the correct explanation.

Last edited:

FerretAfros

Isn't it all contained to one giant building? If there were cracks in one theater, wouldn't it affect the entire building? Pretty sure you couldn't close a part that is structurally deficient while the other half is open. But I'm not a engineer.
I don't know the specifics of the FOP building, but it's not uncommon for machinery within a building to be structurally independent from the building itself. Due to the high concentration of weight and additional live load from moving parts, factories often have separate foundations for equipment within larger warehouse-type buildings; there's no reason that the foundation under the break room needs to be as beefy as the foundation under the assembly line. Similarly, the FOP queue, preshow, and exit areas would have significantly lighter loads than the massive moving-theater ride mechanisms.

More familiar to Disney fans, the Expedition Everest mountain, track, and yeti are all structurally independent, despite being woven through one another.