DVC Questions...Help!

Apple01

Original Poster
Ok so I am totally new to learning about DVC... I have been researching it all day online; however, we have never stayed in a deluxe hotel nor been on the tour. We usually go to Disney once every 3 years...would probably go every other year if DVC really works out to benefit us in being able to afford it like they advertise. I am currently looking at planning our trip for next Jan/Feb (waiting for it to open up to book), and noticed a dilemma with the fact our family has grown and we need more room. We have myself & husband, and a 17 yr, 12, yr, 1 yr, and a baby due in June. Our last 3 trips was myself and husband and the 2 oldest. So the prices have really increased to look at bigger sized rooms! We were looking at AoA suites, but hate to spend that much on Value, and started thinking...wow if I'm going to spend around $2500-$3000 on a room, why not look into DVC Resale?! Cause I know we will be back, and spend that much again in the next 2-3 years...so just seems crazy to throw $ away, that could go towards a DVC. I have looked online and thinking around the $6500-$10,000 dvc resale price range (70-100 points)...only because we want to pay cash for it upfront, and then later probably buy some extra points thru Disney (and also that way we get the perks of buying thru Disney direct).
We have no interest in Adventures by Disney, or cruises, overseas trips, etc.... but do like the idea we could use points towards other places (thru RCI) on years we don't go to Disney (that's if we don't borrow them, etc for Disney).

So I'm curious for the ones that have bought DVC, what are your thoughts a couple years later...do you still love it? Like it? Hate it? Anything I should consider?