Reedy Creek Firefighters planning to picket.

WDW_Firefighter

Original Poster

PhotoDave219

For the record, I am not a Reedy Creek firefighter. I didn't want any confusion with my forum name. I'm just a career firefighter who likes Disney World...

With that out of the way, I saw this article on one of the firefighter pages that I follow on Facebook and thought some of you would find it interesting.

http://www.firerescue1.com/fire-dep...rs-union-plans-demonstration-at-Disney-World/

I fully support Local 2117 and their desire for a fair wage and fair insurance costs.

For a company that posts record profits quarter after quarter, they can afford to pay to keep guests and cast alike safe.

wdwfan22

They are out there now protesting at Disney Springs. These men and women having been working without a contract for over a year. Hopefully they can get a decent contract worked out soon.

Attachments

• reedy.png
    reedy.png
    889.2 KB · Views: 202

Flippin'Flounder

Not that I have an issue with this, but how often do they actually fight fires? Honestly, I'm not sure how often any firefighters work. I know there at the firehouse all the time, but it seems like fires don't occur that often.

BrianV

They are out there now protesting at Disney Springs. These men and women having been working without a contract for over a year. Hopefully they can get a decent contract worked out soon.

We have fire, police and teachers in our town who work for years without contracts. (Always just a small difference between what the town is offering and the unions want.) When they get settled, they always get retroactive pay increases. The town puts aside money for just such eventualities.

I am a fan of unions, but not sure "working without a contract" is as bad as people say. I know plenty non-union workers who work their entire lives without contracts.

PhotoDave219